En español



Quick Links

National Advisory Council Agenda

134th Meeting of the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse

Neuroscience Center - Conference Rooms C & D
6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD.

Individuals with disabilities who need sign language interpreting and/or other reasonable accommodations to participate in this event, should contact Gillian Acca via email or phone at 301-827-5843 or through the Federal Relay (1-800-877-8339). Requests should be made at least five days in advance of the workshop.

January 30, 2020

Closed Session

This meeting is closed to the public in accordance with the provisions set forth in section 552b{c}(4) and 552b{c}(6), Title 5, U.S. Code and section 10(d) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5 U.S.C. Appendix 2). 

9:00 a.m. Call to Order
Nora Volkow, M.D. Director, NIDA

Review of Policy and Procedures
Susan Weiss, Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse
Director, Division of Extramural Research, NIDA
9:15 a.m. Council Review of Grant Applications
Nora Volkow, M.D., Director, NIDA

Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research (DESPR)
Carlos Blanco, M.D., Ph.D., Director

Office of Translational Initiatives and Program Innovationa (OTIPI)
Elena Koustova, Ph.D., M.B.A., Director

Division of Therapeutics and Medical Consequences (DTMC)
Kurt Rasmussen, Ph.D., Director

Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB)
Rita Valentino, Ph.D., Director
10:15 a.m. Break

Open Session

10:30 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks
Nora Volkow, M.D. Director, NIDA
10:45 a.m. Director's Report
Nora Volkow, M.D. Director, NIDA
11:45 a.m. Discussion
Council Members
12:15 p.m. Lunch Break
1:30 p.m. "Basic Research Driving the NIDA Mission: current Advances and Future Directions"
Rita Valentino, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB), NIDA
2:00 p.m. "What becoming a patient taught me about responsible opioid prescribing"
Travis Rieder, Ph.D.
Assistant Director of Education Initiatives & Research Scholar, Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
2:45 p.m. Concept Clearances​
  • Office of Translational Initiatives and Program Innovations (OTIPI)
    • Combining the best technologies and latest science to decrease stigma of mental illness – Leonardo Angelone, Ph.D., Program Officer
    • Technologies for high throughput detection of synthetic drugs illegally circulating through mail – Irina Sazanova, Ph.D., Health Scientist Administrator
  • Division of Neuroscience and Behavior
    • Tools for Germline Gene Editing in Marmosets – Amy Lossie, Ph.D., Health Scientist Administrator
    • Center of Excellence Grant Program – Jonathan Pollock, Ph.D., Branch Chief, Genetics, Epigenetics, and Development Neuroscience Branch
    • Elucidation of mechanisms underlying complex morbidities of SUD and other mental Illnesses – Holly Moore, Ph.D., Program Officer
    • Advancing HIV/AIDS Research through Computational Neuroscience – Vani Pariyadath, Ph.D., Branch Chief, Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Branch
    • Extracellular RNA carrier subclasses in processes relevant to Substance Use Disorders or HIV infection – John Satterlee, Ph.D., Coordinator for Trans-NIH Programs and Activities
  • Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research (DESPR)
    • Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health – Kathy Etz, Ph.D., Director of Native American Programs
    • Addressing current youth smoking risk: intervention to prevent non-combustible smoking – Belinda Sims, Ph.D., Health Scientist Administrator
    • Implementation and evaluation of clinical care guidelines for pain management and opioid-associated consequences – Shelley Su, Ph.D., Health Scientist Administrator
  • Division of Extramural Research
    • Drug Abuse Dissertation Research – Michele Rankin, Ph.D., Director, Office of Research Training
    • NIDA Mentored Clinical Scientists Development Program Award in Substance Use and Substance Use Disorder Research 
    • HEALthy Brain and Child Development (HBCD) Study – Michelle Freund, Ph.D., Director, HBCD Study
    • The NIH Developmental Studies Biospecimen Access Program – Kimberly LeBlanc, Ph.D., Scientific Program Manager, ABCD Study
4:15 p.m. Public Comments
4:30 p.m. Adjourn

This page was last updated January 2020