En español



Quick Links

COVID-19 is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation.

Get the latest information from CDC (coronavirus.gov) | NIH Resources | NIDA Resources

Society for Neuroscience Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award

Jacob P. WaletzkyJacob P. Waletzky

Established in 2003, the annual Society for Neuroscience Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism recognizes the research contributions made by outstanding junior scientists in the area of drug addiction or alcoholism, and the nervous system. Awardees must have received an advanced degree M.D., Ph.D., or equivalent) within the past 15 years. The award is sponsored by the Waletzky family to honor their son Jacob. Recipients of this award include:

  • Thomas Kash (University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, 2019)
  • Michael Bruchas (Washington University, 2018)
  • Garret Stuber (University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, 2017) & Karen Ersche (University of Cambridge, U.K., 2017)
  • Marisa Roberto, (Scripps Research Institute, 2016)
  • Yan Dong (U of Pittsburgh, 2015)
  • Paul Phillips (U of Washington, 2014)
  • Rita Goldstein (Mount Sinai, 2013)
  • Andrew Holmes (NIAAA, 2012)
  • J. David Jentsch (2011)
  • Paul Kenny (2010)
  • Geoffrey Schoenbaum (2009)
  • Chris Pierce (2008)
  • Marina Picciotto (2007)
  • Yavin Shaham (2006)
  • William Carlezon (2005)
  • Antonello Bonci (2004)
  • Pier Vincenzo Piazza (2003)

You can find more information about the Jacob P. Waletsky Award from the Society for Neuroscience web site.

This page was last updated February 2020